5 things I learned from sharing my story at my church. 

Recently, I shared about my relationship with Jesus with my church. I thought it would be easy – but it wasn’t. Where was I supposed to start? How much detail was important? I want to share five takeaways with you that might help you tell your story. This may be with the whole church, or a good friend, or simply as an exercise for your quiet time this week. Here are the five things I learned:

  1. It is so refreshing. Life has many seasons. Tracing out my story and identifying how God has worked in my life throughout the years helped me realize how important each day is. God is working in and through our lives! He finishes the work that He starts in us – and is even working now (Jas 1:2-4, Phil 1:6)!
  2. It had very little to do with me. God has been so faithful to me! I’ve heard it often said that God is the central character of everybody’s story. So true. The more I reflected on my relationship with God, the more I realized: He initiated it, He sustained it, and He is the one who is using it (Eph 2:8-10). Our stories are never designed to only impact us.
  3. It is sure easy to complicate a simple story. I kept overcomplicating it! You don’t have to tell every detail of your life. You don’t have to share every theological Truth you understand! Just tell the most important part about what Jesus has done in your life.
  4. Find help. We have three services, I wasn’t happy how it went the first time through – but I didn’t know what I should cut out or how. I was too close to the story! I needed a second set of ears. That night, I told Anna (my wife) my story and she was easily able to tell me which parts were less than vital.
  5. Story fury needs to be unleashed! It’s really important that we tell about the amazing work that Christ has done in our lives. This should be continual, not a one time thing. Even when Christians are made fun of, told to keep our religion to ourselves, Peter reminds us that it is important that we are able to clearly and respectfully explain why we have the hope we have (1 Pet 3:15).

If you know Jesus, you have an amazing story. I hope you find some time to sit back and trace out your story soon. I know you’ll be blessed by it and probably surprised at how God uses it!

Here are a few questions that can help get you started:

  • What was life like before Christ?
  • When did you decide to get serious about your walk with God? What was one thing that convinced you?
  • How has God used your life?
  • What are you learning in your life now?
  • Do you have any advice for other believers?

Blessings until next time, Scott

Author: scottstoriesblog

I just recently finished my master of divinity degree and am working as a worship leader in an amazing church. I have an amazing wife named Anna and a son named Theodore - they make life an adventure! I like to write about what I'm learning in life and ministry - I hope you'll be encouraged.

Leave a Reply

